2018-2019 Catalog 
    
    Oct 16, 2018  
2018-2019 Catalog

Tuition and Fees


Tuition and Fees

Tuition and fees are set by the board of trustees on an annual basis. Washington College of Law (WCL) students who register for 12 to 17 credit hours are charged for tuition at a flat full-time rate. WCL students who register for fewer than 12 credit hours are charged tuition per credit hour based on the number of credit hours taken. WCL students who register for more than 17 credit hours are charged the flat full-time tuition rate with an additional charge for each credit hour over 17.

Given the probable continuation of current economic conditions, as well as the need to continue to accelerate the academic development of the university, it is reasonable to expect that tuition and fee increases will be required each year in the near future.

Tuition

Cost

Part-time (less than 12 credit hours, per credit hour)

$2,058

Above 17 hours (per additional credit hour)

$2,058

Full-time (12-17 credit hours)

$27,786

 

 

Mandatory Student Fees

Cost

General Fee (per semester): Full-time

$255

General Fee (per semester): Part-time

$186

General Fee (per semester): Summer

$41

Sports Center Full-time (mandatory for all students)

$65

Sports Center Part-time (mandatory for all students)

$30

Technology Full-time (mandatory for all students)

$120

Technology Part-time (mandatory for all students)

$40

Metro U-Pass Full-time (mandatory for full-time students in on-campus programs)

$136

 

 

Student Health Insurance Premiums (2018-2019)

Cost

Annual (August 1, 2018-July 31, 2019)

$1,960

Fall (August 1, 2018-December 31, 2018)

$850

Spring/Summer (January 1, 2019-July 31, 2019)

$1,145

Summer only (May 1, 2019-July 31, 2019)

$500

 

Payment of Charges

Online Payment

Payments can be made online by eChecks (using a checking or savings account) and by credit cards (using Visa, MasterCard or Discover). Credit Card Convenience Fee Disclosure Statement: A non-refundable convenience fee (2.55% of the charge amount) will be charged to your credit card account when making credit card payments applied to your student account bill. Convenience Fees are not charged for enrollment deposits (tuition deposits and housing deposits).

Online Payments are made through your student portal (myAU.american.edu). Under “Personalized Links” select “Finances,” then select “Eagle Finance.” Proceed to the “Make A Payment Page” to make your payment.

Payment by Mail

Payments by check may be sent to the address below. Please write your student AU ID number and name on your check.

American University
Student Accounts
4400 Massachusetts Avenue, NW
Washington, DC 20016-8073

Payment in Person

Payments by check or money order may also be made in person at AU Central, Asbury 201, Monday through Friday, 10:00 am to 5:00 pm.

Correspondence/Inquiries

All other correspondence/inquiries (not payments) should be sent to:

aucentral@american.edu
or
American University
AU Central
Asbury 201
4400 Massachusetts Ave NW
Washington, DC 20016

 

Registration

 

Students must pay the balance due on or before the due date as indicated on the bill sent from the Office of Student Accounts. Bills can also be viewed through the secure portal at https://myau.american.edu/.

Late Payments and Financial Restrictions

A finance charge will be assessed against a student’s account for failure to meet the initial payment due date. The university will use a rate of 0.5 percent per month to compute the finance charge.

Late payments will result in a financial restriction being placed on the student’s account. The financial restriction places a “hold” on the student’s academic records, including transcripts and diplomas, and results in denial of priority registration and use of the payment plan or other credit privileges. Students who incur financial obligations in the parking and traffic office, library, health center, or athletic department may be subject to late payment fees and financial restriction procedures. Students who fail to pay tuition or fees will be responsible for all costs of collection.

Refunds and Cancellation of Charges

Course Drops

A “course drop” is the complete removal of a course or credits from a student’s schedule without a transcript notation. Students who reduce their course load by dropping courses during the refund period of the semester will have the course tuition cancellation calculated as of the date of the course drop. The student’s account must show a credit balance before a refund will be processed.

Unless a course requires special permission to drop, a student may drop a course without instructor permission before the end of the Add/Drop period through the University’s online registration portal. Courses that require instructor permission to drop may be dropped only through submitting a Request for Registration Action form to the Office of the Registrar showing permission from the instructor, or, in extenuating circumstances, the Dean of Students.

Transcript notations will not be added to courses that are dropped before the Deadline to Drop a Class without Transcript Notation. Students are advised to seek academic and/or financial aid advising before dropping courses, as doing so may affect a student’s ability to complete academic requirements and/or receive financial aid.

Discontinuing attendance in class or notifying an instructor does not constitute an official course drop.

Withdrawal

Students seeking to withdraw from a course after the Add/Drop period may do so by submitting a Request for Registration Action form to the Office of the Registrar.

For all course withdrawals after the end of the Add/Drop period, students will receive a notation of Withdraw (“W”) on their transcript and will be subject to the financial policies delineated in the law school’s Tuition Cancellation Schedule. The date that the Request for Registration Action form is received by the Office of the Registrar will be the effective date of the withdrawal.

Students who have been charged with or are under investigation for a violation of the Honor Code may not withdraw from a course that is implicated in the charge. Additional restrictions on course withdrawals may apply to particular academic programs and students in the United States on a visa.

Subject to the provisions of Section VI below, in no situation may a student withdraw from any class after the applicable Deadline to Withdraw from a Course with a Transcript Notation. The student will receive no reimbursement and will receive a failing grade for any course that is not successfully completed. Discontinuation of attendance at a class or notification to the instructor does not constitute an official drop or withdrawal from a course.

Students are advised to seek academic and/or financial aid advising before withdrawing from courses, as doing so may affect a student’s ability to complete academic requirements and/or receive financial aid.

The ability to add, drop, or withdraw from courses with or without transcript notations is based on the time at which a student seeks to do so, as follows:

Semester

Length of Course

Deadline to Add a Course with a Classroom Component

Deadline to Add a Course without a Classroom Component

Deadline to Drop without a Transcript Notation

Deadline to Withdraw from a Course with a Transcript Notation

Fall or Spring

Whole semester

End of Add/Drop Period

One week after the end of Add/Drop period

End of Add/Drop Period

5:00 p.m. Friday of the 10th week of the semester

Fall or Spring

Compressed

No later than the end of 7% of the scheduled course length

Not Applicable

No later than the end of 7% of the scheduled course length

No later than the end of 60% of the scheduled course length

Summer

Whole Semester

End of Add/Drop Period

One week after the end of Add/Drop period

End of Add/Drop Period

No later than the end of the 6th week of the semester

Summer

Compressed

No later than the end of 7% of the scheduled course length

Not Applicable

No later than the end of 7% of the scheduled course length

No later than the end of 60% of the scheduled course length

Withdrawal from All Courses

Students who seek to withdraw from all courses simultaneously must work with the Office of Student Affairs and the Office of the Registrar to file a Withdraw from All Classes form. The date that the Withdraw from All Classes form is received by the Office of the Registrar will be the effective date of the withdrawal.

For all course withdrawals after the end of the Add/Drop period, students will receive a notation of Withdraw (“W”) on their transcript and will be subject to the financial policies delineated in the law school’s Tuition Cancellation Schedule.

Students who have been charged with or are under investigation for a violation of the Honor Code may not withdraw from a course that is implicated in the charge. Additional restrictions on course withdrawals may apply to particular academic programs and students in the United States on a visa.

Subject to the provisions of Section VI below, in no situation may a student withdraw from any class after the applicable Deadline to Withdraw from a Course with a Transcript Notation. The student will receive no reimbursement and will receive a failing grade for any course that is not successfully completed. Discontinuation of attendance at a class or notification to the instructor does not constitute an official drop or withdrawal from a course.

Late Withdrawal or Reduction of Course Load due to Extenuating Circumstances

In the event of an emergency after the applicable Deadline to Withdraw from a Course with a Transcript Notation, if a student wishes to seek special permission to withdraw from all courses or secure a reduced course load, the student must meet with the Office of Student Affairs to provide any required documentation.

After meeting with the Dean of Students, the student must meet with the Office of the Registrar to file a petition requesting withdrawal from all courses or reduction of course load and all affected instructors must be consulted during the routing of the petition. The Senior Associate Dean for Faculty and Academic Affairs will make the final decision for such late withdrawals. The student should provide medical documentation only to the Office of Student Affairs.

Tuition Cancellation Schedule

When students withdraw from courses with a standard face-to-face schedule during a regular semester (fall/spring), refunds are based on the published dates in the Academic Calendar. The cancellation percentage is based on the date of the course drop or withdrawal:

  • 100 percent tuition refund for course drop/withdrawal through the second calendar week of classes
  • 50 percent tuition refund for course drop/withdrawal through the third calendar week of classes
  • 25 percent tuition refund for course drop/withdrawal through the fourth calendar week of classes
  • No refund for course drop/withdrawal after the fourth calendar week of classes

Refunds for face-to-face courses for summer sessions and courses with non-standard meeting times are calculated proportionately, based on the percentage of the course meeting times completed.

Online course refunds are calculated proportionately using percentage of days elapsed from the first day of class until the last day of class.

  • If an online course falls within the regular term, the published dates and refund percentages in the Academic Calendar (100 percent through the second week, 50 percent through the third week, and 25 percent through the fourth week) for the regular term are used.
  • If an online course has non-standard beginning and end dates, the 100 percent, 50 percent, and 25 percent refunds are based on the percentage of days elapsed from the first day of the course until the last day of the course.

Note: The calendar week for cancellation of tuition ends on Friday. Students should check the Academic Calendar for specific dates for each semester.

Based on University policy and federal financial aid regulations, the tuition cancellation policy is strictly enforced based on the date a student drops a course or withdraws from the law school (“change in registration”). The effective date of the change in registration is the date on which the student provides all necessary information to the Office of the Registrar. The Office of Student Accounts will use this information to assess a student’s financial obligation to the University.  If a student’s situation provides exigent circumstances, the student may appeal to WCL’s Tuition Refund Assessment Committee. To initiate an appeal, the student must email Dean David Jaffe at djaffe@wcl.american.edu with a statement explaining the circumstances, which must be compelling and out of the control of the student, and the specific relief sought. The statement should not exceed 1000 words and may include supporting documents. All requests must be made in writing within thirty days of the change in registration or the assessment on the student account, whichever comes later. The Committee will assess all appeals within thirty days of receipt. Decisions made by the Committee are final and may not be further appealed.

Federal (Title IV) Financial Aid Recipients Return of Title IV Funds Policy

As federally mandated, federal (Title IV) aid recipients who withdraw from classes are subject to the following refund policy.

  • Complete withdrawal from all classes: University charges are prorated per the university tuition cancellation schedule, based on the date of the course drop. Students who withdraw from all of their classes before completing the first 60 percent of the semester will have a portion of their financial aid prorated, based on their length of attendance during the semester. Based on this proration, all or a portion of the student’s financial aid will be returned to the appropriate Title IV financial aid program.
  • Partial withdrawal from classes:
    Students who withdraw from some but not all of their classes, at any point during the semester, will have their financial aid recalculated based on the final number of credit hours enrolled. Students withdrawing before the end of the semester may also need to repay funds received for non-institutional costs (off-campus room, board, books, and personal expenses) under a Title IV program. In this case, the university determines whether or not the student received an overpayment. If the monies disbursed for non-institutional costs are more than the amount determined to be the actual non-institutional costs for the period of enrollment, the student received an overpayment and may be responsible for returning funds to American University.

Questions about how the refund and repayment regulations may affect a student’s financial aid should be referred to the student’s Financial Aid counselor prior to withdrawing from the university.

Medical Withdrawal Policy

No special waiver or refund of tuition and fees is made when a student discontinues attending classes due to medical reasons. However, when a student is hospitalized on an emergency basis and is therefore unable to formally withdraw from classes, the Office of the Registrar is authorized to process a retroactive withdrawal based on the last date that the student attended class. The student must present evidence of his or her hospitalization and the date of last attendance in class as verified by the instructor. Provided that the retroactive withdrawal date falls within the tuition cancellation period, the student’s account will be adjusted accordingly.

Tuition Refund Insurance

The Tuition Refund Plan can minimize financial loss incurred in a medical withdrawal from the university. This elective insurance plan provides coverage for tuition and housing charges. The plan extends and enhances the university’s published refund policy. To participate, applications and fees must be returned before the first day of fall semester classes. For specific benefits and limitations, premium, and other information, contact the student health insurance coordinator at 202-885-3298.